Buying guide · USB-C Cables & Adapters
USB-C cables: what €9, €15 and €34 buy at 60 W, 100 W and 240 W
Twelve real USB-C cables from the catalogue, €8.99 to €120.99, ranked by the only number that compares them fairly: euros per watt of rated power.
A USB-C cable is the cheapest part of any charging setup and the one most often bought blind. The wattage printed on the box is a ceiling, not a promise: a 240 W cable will not charge a laptop faster than a 100 W cable if the charger or the device tops out lower. What the rating does decide is whether the cable becomes the bottleneck. In the USB-C Cables & Adapters collection there are 4,405 active products; we pulled twelve with verified price and stock, from the One For All 60 W at €8.99 to the CLUB3D USB4 100 W at €120.99, and divided each price by its rated wattage.
Quick summary
- The cheapest power per euro is a 240 W cable at €14.99: €0.062 per watt.
- The most expensive widely-sold option is a 60 W cable at €30.99: €0.517 per watt, 8.3 times more.
- Buying more wattage is cheaper per watt than buying less — the opposite of most electronics.
- Length is where the money actually goes: €5.99/m for a 1.5 m 60 W cable versus €18.33/m for a 1.2 m 240 W one.
Why watts are the right axis, even though they are the wrong headline
Ratings are not a performance score. A 240 W cable is built to carry 5 A at 48 V; a 60 W cable carries 3 A at 20 V. If your charger outputs 65 W, both cables deliver 65 W and the difference is irrelevant. The rating matters in one direction only: a cable rated below your charger caps your charging. Everything above that is headroom you are paying for.
That is exactly why dividing price by rated watts is useful. It exposes which cables are priced for copper and which are priced for a label.
The real table: €0.062 to €1.210 per watt
Price, rated wattage, length and stock as listed in the catalogue on publication date. €/watt and €/metre are our calculations. Dashes mean the listing does not state that figure, so it cannot be compared.
| Product | Rated | Length | Price | €/watt | €/metre | Stock |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Act Connectivity USB Cable C Charging 240W + Data 20Gbps 1M | 240 W | 1 m | €14.99 | €0.062 | €14.99 | 18 |
| USB-C To USB-C Cable Premium Liquid Silicone, 240W | 240 W | — | €20.99 | €0.087 | — | 25 |
| 4SMARTS USB-C Cable Privacycord 240W 1.2M, Black | 240 W | 1.2 m | €21.99 | €0.092 | €18.33 | 5 |
| Iniu Cable Digital Display Leopard USB-C 240W | 240 W | — | €24.99 | €0.104 | — | 25 |
| Acer Cable 240W PD USB-C To USB-C 5A, USB 2.0, 2M, Black | 240 W | 2 m | €33.99 | €0.142 | €17.00 | 25 |
| Shiverpeaks Cable USB-C Charging 3.2, 240W, Orange, 2M | 240 W | 2 m | €37.99 | €0.158 | €19.00 | 4 |
| Shiverpeaks Cable USB-C Charging 3.2 90° 100W PD Textile 2M | 100 W | 2 m | €17.99 | €0.180 | €9.00 | 4 |
| One For All Premium USB-C to USB-C Cable PD 60W 1.5M | 60 W | 1.5 m | €8.99 | €0.150 | €5.99 | 9 |
| Vention Cable USB-C 3.1 M-M 3A 60W Cotton Braided 1.5M | 60 W | 1.5 m | €11.99 | €0.200 | €7.99 | 10 |
| Anker Cable 322 USB-C to USB-C 1.8M 60W White | 60 W | 1.8 m | €30.99 | €0.517 | €17.22 | 25 |
| Cable CLUB3D USB4 Type-C PD 100W / 8K / 20Gbps 9M M/M Retail | 100 W | 9 m | €120.99 | €1.210 | €13.44 | 24 |
What each tier actually buys
240 W at €0.06–0.09 per watt. This is the surprise of the table. The Act Connectivity 240 W costs €14.99 — less than half the price of the 60 W Anker — and delivers the highest rating in the sample. It is a 1 m cable with 20 Gbps data, so the money went into the conductor and not into length, braiding or a display. The premium silicone and the Privacycord add build quality and privacy hardware, not wattage.
100 W at €0.18 per watt. The Shiverpeaks 100 W textile cable at €17.99 is the balanced option: 2 m, 100 W, €9.00 per metre. The CLUB3D USB4 at €120.99 is a different product wearing the same connector — 9 m, 8K video, 20 Gbps — and its €1.21 per watt is the price of a long active cable, not of charging.
60 W at €0.15–0.52 per watt. The spread inside one rating is the widest of all: €8.99 for the One For All at 1.5 m and €30.99 for the Anker at 1.8 m, 8.3 times more per watt. Both are 60 W. What the extra €22 buys is 30 cm of cable, a known brand and a white finish — which may be exactly what you want, as long as you know that is what you are buying.
Checklist before you pay
1. Match the cable to the charger, not to the laptop. A 100 W charger with a 60 W cable charges at 60 W.
2. Check amps as well as watts. 5 A at 48 V is a different cable from 3 A at 20 V, even when both say USB-C.
3. Do the division. Price divided by rated watts, and price divided by metres. The two answers rarely point to the same cable.
4. Ignore the rating if you only sync data. For a mouse or a keyboard, any cable works and the cheapest is correct.
5. Look at stock. The 4SMARTS 240 W has 5 units and the Shiverpeaks 240 W has 4; the Act has 18. In cables, availability beats a 2-cent saving.
Related guides
If the cable is going into a dock rather than a charger, USB-C docks: one cable, from €61.99 covers what the hub adds. For portable power, power banks: why 10,000 mAh gives you 6,000 explains the same kind of real-world gap between the number on the box and the number you get. And if the cable feeds a screen, portable monitors: travel and work displays covers which of them charge over the same port. Certified refurbished deals across the catalogue are in Refurbished Hot Deals Europe.
FAQ
Will a 240 W cable charge my laptop faster? No, unless your charger and laptop already exceed 100 W. The cable is a ceiling, not an engine.
Why is the cheapest cable per watt also the highest rated? Because rating costs copper, and copper is cheap at short lengths. The €30.99 60 W cable is paying for brand and finish, not for conductor.
Does length really matter that much? For price, yes: the same 100 W rating runs from €9.00/m to €13.44/m depending on length and extras. For charging speed, only beyond 2–3 m.
Do I need 20 Gbps data? Only for displays, external SSDs or docks. For charging, a USB 2.0 cable at 240 W is enough — and cheaper.
What does the missing length in some listings mean? That the listing does not state it. We left those cells empty rather than guess, and you should treat an unstated length as a reason to check before buying.
Compare €/watt in the catalogue
This week's verified stock
Products in stock, at the price shown. 14-day returns, 2-year warranty, delivery in 3-7 business days within the EU and 1-3 in Spain and Portugal.
